Politicos on Parade on Friday, February 3rd

This fundraiser has been presented by League of Women Voters of the Space Coast every two years since 2005. Fashions will be provided by La Moda in Suntree and Mens Wearhouse in Melbourne. Public is invited.

Walt Johnson, Mayor of Titusville will be the Master of Ceremonies and Models Are: Tina Descovich, Melinda Gibson, Karalyn Woulas, William Capote, Ed Martinez, and Matt Susin.

Date: Friday, February 3rd at 11:30 a.m.

Place: Suntree Country Club at One Country Club Drive, Melbourne, FL 32940

Menu: Chicken Piccata, Strawberry Salmon or Vegetarian Lasagna. Meal includes garden salad, rolls and beverage.

Cost: $45.00

Reservations: Deadline for reservations is Thursday, January 26, 2017.

There are two options for making a reservation: The first option is to call or e-mail Doreen Archer with meal choice. Doreen Archer 321-622-4071 or doreenarcher1@gmail.com.

Checks made out to LWVSC should be mailed to Treasurer, Brigitte Sinton, 6629 Canal Road, Melbourne Village, FL 32904 before the event.Second option is to make your reservation on Eventbrite.

Reservations at Eventbrite

The Save our Indian Lagoon 1/2 cent sales tax referendum passed

This requires that the money be deposited to a Save Our Lagoon Trust Fund solely for approved projects with citizen commmittee oversight and annual independent audits

League member Lorraine Koss has been appointed by Brevard County Commissioners to the seven-member Citizen Oversight Committee and has been elected Chair. Seven alternates were also appointed. All appointments are for two years of the 10-year plan.

2016-2017 Recycling Awards Program for Brevard County Schools

Thirteen schools are registered to participate in the 2016-2017 Recycling Awards Program. The 8 elementary schools are: Challenger 7, Coquina, Freedom 7, Lewis Carroll, Port Malabar, Riviera, Surfside and Tropical. The four middle schools are: Herbert C. Hoover, Sculptor Charter, Southwest and Stone Magnet. Palm Bay Magnet is the only high school that is participating. Download packet for information on this program.

You can also contact Marcia Booth at Marcia@RecycleBrevard.org or 305-479-4514

Florida Solar United Neighborhood

The League of Women Voters Florida and Community Power Network, a DC based solar non-profit network, have joined forces to create FL SUN. The goal of FL SUN is to expand access to solar by educating Floridians about the benefits of distributed solar energy, helping them organize group solar installations, and strengthen Florida's solar policies and its community of solar supporters.

There are two informational meetings.

Saturday, January 28th at 10 a.m. at Ted Moorehouse Lagoon House at 3275 Dixie Highway, NE Palm Bay, FL

Saturday, February 25th at 2 p.m. at Rockledge Gardens at 2153-US-1, Rockledge, FL

Information on Florida Sun Solar Choice

Florida League President Pam Goodman's interview with Matt Reed, Florida Today's Opinions Editor

Matt Reed Interview with Pamela Goodman

Education Blog

The Blog follows very interesting happenings across the state and nation in the area of education and particularly charter schools. It is free.

Education Blog